Docs Menu

Client Resets

On this page

  • Overview
  • Handle a Client Reset

A client reset is an error scenario where a client application that uses a Realm SDK must erase all local data and download a new copy of the data from MongoDB Atlas before it can continue to sync data. Clients in this state may continue to run and save data locally but cannot send or receive sync changesets until the client reset is complete.

Warning

The client reset process loses any unsynced changes even if they were successfully saved locally. To avoid data loss, you must manually back up and restore any unsynced changes when you handle a client reset.

Client reset scenarios are generally rare and occur when the server's copy of a synced realm file has an older version than the client's realm file. The most common causes of client resets are:

  • Realm server crashes: A server may restore from a backup that has an earlier version. An automatic client reset for this scenario would reset the client to the earlier version and lose any changes that were saved on the client but not yet synced with the server.
  • Destructive schema changes: A destructive change, like changing a property type or a primary key, requires you to terminate and re-enable sync. This creates a new synced realm file with a version unrelated to the client's file.

The SDKs can detect and perform automatic client resets on application startup. They also expose an interface for you to add custom recovery code where you can triage and save local data before the reset occurs.

Important

Automatic client resets lose any changes saved in the client's realm file since the client last successfully synced. To preserve these changes, you must write a custom client reset error handler.

To see how, check out a client reset usage example for your SDK:

Give Feedback
© 2021 MongoDB, Inc.

About

  • Careers
  • Legal Notices
  • Privacy Notices
  • Security Information
  • Trust Center
© 2021 MongoDB, Inc.