Client Resets - Android SDK¶
On this page
When using Realm Sync, a client reset is a serious error recovery task that your client app must perform in the following situation:
- The given synced realm on the server was restored from a backup. For example, due to a Realm server crash.
- The client app made changes to that realm since the backup was made, but did not sync those changes back to the server before the server was restored.
In other words, the client app must carry out a client reset on a given synced realm if the server is restored to a version older than the version on the client.
A client reset erases all local data and downloads a new copy of the data stored in MongoDB Atlas. Performing a client reset loses all local changes made since the client last successfully synced.
By default, the SDK performs client resets automatically on startup when instructed to do so by the server. When a client reset occurs, the SDK creates a backup of local data. By default, the SDK makes no effort to recover lost local changes from this backup. If you override the client reset handler, you can access this backup copy through the SyncConfiguration stored in the ClientResetRequiredError to manually transfer data from the backup copy to the newly created realm.
To override the default client reset behavior, create an instance of a SyncSession.ClientResetHandler that overrides the default onClientReset() behavior. Pass this object to your SyncConfiguration.Builder (for clients that use Realm Sync) using the defaultClientResetHandler() builder method: