Navigation

Favorite Connections

Compass allows you to save MongoDB connection configurations to easily reconnect to the same MongoDB deployment using the same specifications.

Save a Favorite Connection

You can save a favorite connection from the initial connect screen, or after you have successfully connected to a MongoDB deployment.

Save from Connect Screen

1

Configure your connection form with a connection you would like to save.

2

Click Favorite at the top of the form.

Favorite Connection Button
3

Enter a name for this favorite connection.

Name Favorite Connection
4

(Optional) Select a color for your favorite to more easily identify the favorite connection.

5

Click Save.

Save after Connecting to a Deployment

1

Click Favorite on the left navigation panel.

Save connection to favorites from menu
2

Enter a name for this favorite connection.

Name Favorite Connection
3

(Optional) Select a color for your favorite to more easily identify the favorite connection.

4

Click Save.

Once you save your favorite connection, Compass displays the connection in the Favorites section of the left navigation panel.

Saved Favorite Connection

Edit a Favorite Connection

1

Click the desired connection under Favorites in the left navigation panel.

Saved Favorite Connection

To Copy or Remove a Favorite Connection, hover over the target connection and click the ellipsis h icon button.

  • Copying a connection creates another Favorite Connection with the same configuration.
  • Removing a connection deletes that Favorite Connection.
2

Make the desired changes to the connection configuration within the form.

When you make any change to a connection, a dialog will appear at the bottom of the form with options Discard and Save Changes.

3

Click Save Changes.

Delete a Favorite Connection

1

Click the desired connection under Favorites in the left navigation panel.

2

Click the ellipsis h icon button on the connection.

Image showing selecting Favorite Connection dropdown

Compass displays a dropdown menu with options Copy and Remove.

3

Click Remove from the dropdown menu.

Compass removes the connection from the Favorites list and returns the New Connection form to the default state.