Navigation
This documentation refers to the MongoDB Charts service in MongoDB Atlas. Read the on-premises documentation to learn how to use the MongoDB Charts on site.

Manage Existing Dashboards

This page outlines various methods for modifying existing dashboards. The sections on this page outline the required permissions to perform the actions.

To begin modifying a dashboard, enter the dashboard view by clicking the desired dashboard from the Dashboards tab.

Note

You can search for dashboards by title by using the search bar in the top-right corner of the page.

Viewer Actions

The following action can be performed by any user with at least Viewer permissions on the target dashboard, meaning any level of dashboard access is sufficient.

Duplicate a Dashboard

You can duplicate any dashboard in your Dashboards tab, even if you do not have editing permissions.

To duplicate a dashboard from the Dashboards tab:

  1. Click the ellipsis () button on the desired dashboard.
  2. Select Duplicate Dashboard from the pop-up menu.
  3. In the Dashboard Details dialog, update the Title and Description fields.
  4. Click Create to save the duplicated dashboard.

Note

The user who duplicates a dashboard becomes the owner and only user of the newly duplicated dashboard. To grant other users access, update the dashboard’s permissions.

Author Actions

The following actions require either the Author or Owner permission on the target dashboard.

Add a Chart

To add a chart to your dashboard, click the Add Chart button at the top-right of your dashboard. For detailed instructions on creating charts, see Build Charts.

Edit a Chart

To edit a chart, hover over the desired chart and click the Edit button. For details on the available editing options, see Build Charts.

Remove a Chart

Important

Removing a chart from a dashboard is a permanent operation. There is no way to recover a chart once it has been deleted, although the underlying data in the collection the chart was created from will continue to exist.

To remove a chart from your dashboard, hover over the desired chart and click the ellipsis () button at the top-right of the chart. Select Delete Chart, then click the Delete Chart button in the dialog to confirm the chart deletion.

Duplicate a Chart

To quickly build multiple related charts without starting from scratch each time, you can duplicate any chart on a dashboard.

To duplicate a chart:

  1. Hover over the desired chart on your dashboard and click the ellipsis () button at the top-right of the chart.
  2. Select Duplicate Chart.
  3. Make any desired changes, then click the green Save and Close button to save the new chart. This saves the chart on the same dashboard as the original copy.

Move a Chart to a Different Dashboard

Note

This action requires the author or owner role on both the origin and destination dashboards.

To move a chart to a different dashboard:

  1. Navigate to the dashboard which contains the chart you wish to move.
  2. Hover over the desired chart and click the ellipsis () button at the top-right of the chart.
  3. Click Move to.
  4. In the Move to dialog, use the dropdown to select the target dashboard for the chart.
  5. Click Move Chart.

Charts reloads the current dashboard and the target chart is no longer present.

Resize a Chart

To resize a chart, hover over the chart and drag the bottom-right corner until the appearing blue rectangle reaches the desired size.

Resize Chart Example

Reposition Charts

To rearrange charts in your dashboard, hover over the chart and drag the top-left corner until the appearing blue rectangle is in the desired location. You can also see how moving the chart will affect the position of other charts in your dashboard, as illustrated in the following example:

Rearrange Charts Example

Rename a Dashboard and Edit its Description

You can rename a dashboard and edit its description either from the Dashboards tab, which shows an overview of all your dashboards, or from within an individual dashboard.

From the Dashboards tab:

  1. Each dashboard has a button with an ellipsis icon () in the upper right corner. Click the ellipsis button.
  2. Select Edit Title / Description from the pop-up menu.
  3. In the Dashboard Details dialog, update the Title and Description of your dashboard.
  4. Click Update to save your changes.

From within an individual dashboard:

  1. In the upper left corner of the desired dashboard view, hover over the dashboard title or description and click the pencil icon.
  2. In the Dashboard Details dialog, update the Title and Description of your dashboard.
  3. Click Update to save your changes.

Owner Actions

The following actions require Owner permission on the target dashboard.

Delete a Dashboard

Important

Deleting a dashboard is a permanent operation. There is no way to recover a dashboard once it has been deleted, although the underlying data in the collections used in the dashboard will continue to exist.

To delete a dashboard:

  1. In the Dashboards tab, locate the dashboard you wish to delete.
  2. Click the button on the top-right of the dashboard.
  3. Click Delete Dashboard.
  4. Click Delete in the Delete Dashboard dialog to confirm deletion.

Modify Dashboard Permissions

A dashboard Owner can modify which users can access the dashboard and their respective permission levels. For more information, refer to the Dashboard Permissions page.