Navigation

Data Source Permissions

Data source permissions dictate which actions users in your Atlas project can perform on the data source. You can also set data source permissions to make a data source only visible to a subset of users.

The following table describes the data source permission levels:

Data Source Permission Description
Viewer

Can view any chart on a dashboard that uses the data source. You can grant this permission to specific users or everyone in the Atlas project for the given data source.

Data source Viewers cannot see the data source in the Data Sources list, or in the Data Source dropdown in the Chart Builder.

Author

Inherits all actions from Viewer and can also create and edit charts using the data source.

Note

If you create a data source and do not have the Project Owner project role, you will not be an Owner of that data source. The Owner data source permission is reserved for users with the Project Owner role.

Owner
Inherits all permissions from Author and can also manage all aspects of the data source.

Permissions Granted by Project Roles

Charts automatically grants data source permissions for certain project roles. The following table lists project roles and the data source permission they grant:

Project Roles Data Source Permission
  • Project Read Only
  • Project Cluster Manager
None. A data source Owner may grant Viewer permissions to these roles.
  • Project Data Access Admin
  • Project Data Access Read/Write
  • Project Data Access Read Only
Author
  • Project Owner
Owner

Modify Data Source Authors and Owners

Atlas automatically assigns data source permissions to users based on their project roles. As such, to modify data source Authors and Owners, you must do so through the Atlas Access Management page.

To access the Atlas Access Management:

  1. In the top navigation, click the down arrow next to Access Manager, then click Project Access.
  2. Click Edit Permissions for a user whose permissions you wish to change.
  3. Select new permission levels in the dropdown.
  4. Click the check mark to save your changes.

View Data Source Permissions

To view permissions for a specific data source, navigate to the Data Sources page and hover over the data source’s Access button. A tooltip describing the data source permissions will appear. The tooltip displays your permissions, the owner of the data source, and all other users who have access.

The following table lists the possible icons and their associated permissions:

Icon Description
globe icon Globe Icon You have either Author or Owner permission and Everyone in your Atlas project has some level of access to the data source.
users icon Group Icon You have either Author or Owner permission and additional users have Viewer permission on the data source.
lock icon Lock Icon You have Owner permission and no other user has access.

Set Data Source Permissions

If you are a data source Owner, you can Modify permissions on a data source which has already been created.

Refer to the following sections for instructions on granting specific users permissions on a data source and granting all users in your Atlas project permissions on a data source:

Specific User Access

Note

You can only share data sources with users who are members of the Atlas project associated with your Charts instance.

To grant specific users with the Project Read Only project role permission to view charts which use your data source:

  1. For the data source to which you want to manage access, click the Access button.
  2. Search for or select the user to whom you want to give access. You can search for users by their username or email address.
  3. Click the user to add them to the permissions list.
  4. Repeat steps 2-4 for each user you wish to grant data source access.

To remove access for a user you have added, click the trash can icon to the right of the user’s name.

Access for All Users

You can the grant the Viewer permission to all users with the Project Read Only project role. This allows all users to view any chart on a dashboard that uses that data source.

To grant all users the Viewer permission, toggle the switch on the right-side of the Everyone in <Project Name> user to On.

Note

If you enable the Viewer permission for everyone in your project, a user’s specific permissions take precedence over the permissions set to Everyone.

For example, if you grant Viewer to all users and the Author permission to a user named Alice, Alice’s effective permission level is Author.