Navigation
This documentation refers to the on premises version of MongoDB Charts. For documentation on the MongoDB Charts SaaS application in Atlas, click here.

Dashboards

Dashboards are a collection of charts assembled to create a single unified display of your data. Each chart shows data from a single MongoDB collection or view, so dashboards are essential to attain insight into multiple focal points of your data in a single display.

Dashboards Tab

The Dashboards tab shows all dashboards you have access to view. For more information on dashboard permissions in MongoDB Charts, see the Dashboard Permissions page.

Charts Dashboard Tab

Each dashboard shows the following information:

  • Title
  • Description
  • A preview of the first three charts in the dashboard, including the chart title and type
  • When the dashboard was last modified

By default, the most recently modified dashboards are shown first in the list. You can change the sort order by using the Sort By dropdown menu.

Create a New Dashboard

To create a new dashboard:

  1. From the Dashboards tab, click the New Dashboard button.
  2. In the New Dashboard dialog, enter a title for your dashboard.
  3. (Optional) Enter a description for your dashboard.
  4. Click Create.

After after clicking the Create button you are taken to the page for your newly created dashboard, where you are prompted to add the first chart to your dashboard:

Charts New Dashboard Example

Manage Existing Dashboards

You can manage existing dashboards by performing the following actions:

To begin modifying a dashboard, enter the dashboard view by clicking the desired dashboard from the Dashboards tab.

Note

You can search for dashboards by title by using the search bar in the top-right corner of the page.

Add a Chart

To add a chart to your dashboard, click the Add Chart button at the top-right of your dashboard. For detailed instructions on creating charts, see Build Charts.

Edit a Chart

To edit a chart, hover over the desired chart and click the Edit button. For details on the available editing options, see Build Charts.

Remove a Chart

Important

Removing a chart from a dashboard is a permanent operation. There is no way to recover a chart once it has been deleted, although the underlying data in the collection the chart was created from will continue to exist.

To remove a chart from your dashboard, hover over the desired chart and click the ellipsis () button at the top-right of the chart. Select Delete Chart, then click the Delete Chart button in the dialog to confirm the chart deletion.

Duplicate a Chart

To quickly build multiple related charts without starting from scratch each time, you can duplicate any chart on a dashboard for which you have the author or owner role.

To duplicate a chart:

  1. Hover over the desired chart on your dashboard and click the ellipsis () button at the top-right of the chart.
  2. Select Duplicate Chart.
  3. Make any desired changes, then click the green Save and Close button to save the new chart.

Resize a Chart

To resize a chart, hover over the chart and drag the bottom-right corner until the appearing blue rectangle reaches the deired size.

Resize Chart Example

Reposition Charts

To rearrange charts in your dashboard, hover over the chart and drag the top-left corner until the appearing blue rectangle is in the desired location. You can also see how moving the chart will affect the position of other charts in your dashboard, as illustrated in the following example:

Rearrange Charts Example

Rename a Dashboard and Edit its Description

Users with the Author or Owner role can rename a dashboard and edit its description either from the Dashboards tab, which shows an overview of all your dashboards, or from within an individual dashboard.

From the Dashboards tab:

  1. Each dashboard has a button with the ellipsis icon () in the upper right corner. Click the ellipsis button.
  2. Select Edit Title / Description from the pop-up menu.
  3. In the Dashboard Details dialog, update the Title and Description of your dashboard.
  4. Click Update to save your changes.

From within an individual dashboard:

  1. In the upper left corner of the desired dashboard view, hover over the dashboard title or description and click the pencil icon.
  2. In the Dashboard Details dialog, update the Title and Description of your dashboard.
  3. Click Update to save your changes.

Duplicate a Dashboard

You can duplicate any dashboard you can see in your Dashboards tab, even if you are a viewer without editing permissions.

Note

The user who duplicates a dashboard becomes the owner and only user of the newly duplicated dashboard. To grant other users access, update the dashboard’s permissions.

To duplicate a dashboard from the Dashboards tab:

  1. Click the ellipsis () button on the desired dashboard.
  2. Select Duplicate Dashboard from the pop-up menu.
  3. In the Dashboard Details dialog, update the Title and Description fields.
  4. Click Create to save the duplicated dashboard.

Delete a Dashboard

Important

Deleting a dashboard is a permanent operation. There is no way to recover a dashboard once it has been deleted, although the underlying data in the collections used in the dashboard will continue to exist.

To delete a dashboard:

  1. In the Dashboards tab, locate the dashboard you wish to delete.
  2. Click the button on the top-right of the dashboard.
  3. Click Delete Dashboard.
  4. Click Delete in the Delete Dashboard dialog to confirm deletion.

Refresh Dashboard Data

You can refresh dashboard data to update all charts on the dashboard with the most current data from their respective data sources. When MongoDB Charts loads charts on a dashboard, it does not consistently query the data source for each chart. Instead, MongoDB Charts queries the data source when the dashboard first loads, and that data is stored in the browser cache and used to render the charts.

MongoDB Charts provides options to both manually refresh dashboard data and configure the dashboard to automatically refresh at a specified time interval. These options allow you to control how current the data displayed on your dashboard is. By default, when you first create a dashboard, it is configured to refresh its data every hour. The Auto text next to the sync icon icon signifies that auto refresh is enabled.

Manually Refresh Dashboard Data

To manually refresh dashboard data, first select a dashboard from the Dashboards tab, then click the sync icon button at the top-right of the dashboard.

Configure Auto Refresh Settings

You can configure auto refresh settings to change the interval at which the dashboard data is refreshed. The dashboard shows the time its data was last updated and when the next update will occur at the top-right of the view.

To configure auto refresh settings for a dashboard:

  1. From the dashboard view, click the arrow next to the sync icon button and click Auto Refresh Settings.
  2. Select the desired refresh interval.
  3. Click Save.

Note

Auto refresh settings are stored in the local browser state. Settings dictating whether auto refresh is enabled and its configured interval are not persisted with the dashboard or shared with other users.

Disable and Enable Auto Refresh

To disable auto refresh, click the arrow next to the sync icon button and click Disable Auto Refresh.

To enable auto refresh, click the arrow next to the sync icon button and click Enable Auto Refresh.

Fullscreen View

MongoDB Charts provides a fullscreen view for dashboards. In this view, MongoDB Charts hides the main navigation bar and exapands the dashboard to show the title, description, time of last modification, and charts in the entire space of the screen.

To open a dashboard in fullscreen view, first select a dashboard from the Dashboards tab, then click the expanding arrows at the top-right of the dashboard:

Fullscreen Arrows

Note

You can still remove, resize, rearrange, and access editing for charts in fullscreen view by hovering over the desired chart.

Additionally, in fullscreen view you can still configure auto-refresh settings and manually refresh chart data using the refresh button.

To exit fullscreen view, either click the contracting arrows at the top-right of the dashboard or press the escape key.